Opening Night Celebration 2018

Saturday, October 5, 2018
New Jersey Performing Arts Center
One Center Street, Newark, NJ
Opening Night Celebration

On October 5, 2018, the New Jersey Symphony Orchestra held its Opening Night Celebration and honored two outstanding community members—Dr. Nariman Farvardin, President of Stevens Institute of Technology, and Florence Johnson, NJSO Community Relations Liaison. More than 300 guests enjoyed the celebration, which began with a pre-concert cocktail party in the remarkable Prudential Hall lobby of NJPAC and featured the wonderful jazz music of Newark Arts High School students. Guests and concertgoers were treated to a concert program led by Music Director Xian Zhang filled with the glorious music of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9, “Choral,” and joined by the singers of Montclair State University, as well as Newark Voices—a community choir based in Newark.

Immediately following the concert, guests enjoyed an elegant dinner in the lobby. The evening’s attendees were also treated to a viewing of an ambient virtual sound orb created by two talented students from Stevens Institute of Technology. The virtual orb was designed to make magical sounds with leap motion technology. NJSO first violinist Darryl Kubian conducted the sound orb, while Principle Flute Bart Feller and Principal Horn Chris Komer played an impromptu fascinating and innovative performance!

The NJSO would like to thank all of those who attended and supported the Opening Night Celebration. Their contributions have been essential to the success of this fine performing organization, and we are delighted to have raised a significant amount from the event, which contributes to the NJSO’s community and education programs throughout New Jersey.

Thank you to the following contributors, whose very generous support has made the New Jersey Symphony Orchestra’s Opening Night Celebration possible.

Gala Hosts
New Jersey Symphony Orchestra Board of Trustees
Linda M. Bowden and David R. Huber, Co-Chairs of the Board

Honorary Gala Chairs
Governor Philip D. Murphy
Lt. Governor Sheila Oliver

Gala Co-Chairs
Phillip Crowley
Diane C. Young

Gala Committee
Ann & Stanley Borowiec
A. Michael & Ruth C. Lipper
Michelle Merchant
Gwen Moten
Sheila & Joseph Nadler
Steve & Mary Jo Sichak
Ed Stukane
Kelland Thomas

Event Sponsor



A. Michael & Ruth C. Lipper
Amy C. Liss







Elin Mueller
Dr. Diane C. Young & Philip Crowley

Ann & Stanley Borowiec
Boswell Engineering
CCS Fundraising
Jennifer A. Chalsty
Delta Dental of New Jersey
Hackensack Meridian Health
Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield of New Jersey
William & Paula Marino
McCarter & English, LLP
MCJ Amelior Foundation
Sheila & Joseph Nadler
Phil & Ellen Neches
Northern Trust
Carolyn Klaimen Racusin, Warren Racusin & Lowenstein Sandler
Beth & Dan Pallone
Richard Roscitt
Norman Slonaker
Stevens Institute of Technology
Donald Strangfeld & Bettina Daly
Mary Claire White

Lawrence T. Babbio
Audrey Bartner
Deborah Ann Bello
James & Mary Ann Borzi
Linda Bowden
Michael Brand
Nariman & Hoveida Farvadin
Broadridge Financial Solutions
Barbara Cohn
Judy & Stewart Colton
Kevin Cummings
Ann Denburg Cummis
Alan & Hope Danzis
Anna Drago
Curtland E. Fields
Robert & Laura Garrett
Happy Chef
Don Heirman
John & Karen Hoffman
David & Ellen Huber
Florence Johnson
Gregory & Jaqueline Khost
Arlene Lieberman
Judith Lieberman
The Nakhamkin Family
NJM Insurance
Christopher & Theresa Petermann
Mary & Lawrence Prendergast
Larry & Pat Rutkowski
Marcia Sass & Mark Fulcomer
Stephen & Mary Jo Sichak
Craig Silliman & Kate Ransom-Silliman
Cecilia Sweeney
US Trust, Bank of America Private Wealth Management
Thomas C. Wallace
E. Jean Ward
Dick & Nikki Watson
Judy & Josh Weston
Dennis & Dona Wilson
Barbara & Ed Zinbarg

Commitments as of September 28, 2018